Transreal Fiction

Scotland’s sf & fantasy bookstore

It was twenty years ago today…

Um, what’s to say?
Transreal Fiction opened it’s doors 20 years ago today! That’s back in 1997, when the Spice Girls ruled the charts and Kim Stanley Robinson was about to win the Hugo for Blue Mars. And Comet Hale-Bopp was at perihelion. Tony Blair swept to power about 3 weeks after I opened, and someone carved ‘Yes!’ in celebration on the newly-painted shop door.
So much has changed, including the shop’s address, but the core concept I had back then continues on much as I envisaged. My initial plans may not have included selling cuddly toy mammoths but I see that as a bonus! 🙂

Thanks to all who have given me money (by buying stuff!) over the years! It’s been very much appreciated and it’s all helped to keep Transreal Fiction going.

 

April 11, 2017 Posted by | Uncategorized | 2 Comments